What would the neighbours have said?

As I sat on my porch this evening,
watching the sun set behind the trees,

I thought, for the briefest eternity of a second,
“Ah, my mistress, she–dressed in the
negligee of night–slips towards our
bed chambers. I must go to her.”

And as I stand to pull from me
my vestments Erick, the neighbour boy,
scoots past hurrying home by nightfall.

With hand already loosening belt buckle,
I laugh! What if I, newly naked, had
chased her withdrawing towards the west?

~ by jeorgesmith on 25 June 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
