I love my job.

So I was researching mediaeval forms of manual labor, hoping to find some good images of peasants working in the fields, or monks about the garden, when I found this.

Mummified Fairy

This is a pristine example of a Fae creature found in Derbyshire around 31 March 2007. With a bit more searching I found this:

Fairy Fossils

Two nice examples, though I find the mummy much more artistically pleasing.

What I think most interesting about the whole thing is something said by the Derbyshire man who later confessed to having made the mummy. In an article he released some short time after the incident occurred, Dan Baines says:

Alas the fairy is fake but my interest and belief has allowed me to create a work of art that is convincing and magical. I was also interested to see if fairy folklore is still a valid belief in modern society and I am pleased to say that yes it is! I have had more response from believers than I ever thought possible.

And indeed, if one goes to read various blogs and hoax/urban legend sites one will see the numbers of people who are outspokenly in favor (or against) the existence of the Fae peoples.

The other thing that I find wonderfully interesting is how the Fae people are imagined and portrayed to appear: the leaf-wings in the mummy, versus the dragonfly-wings in the fossil, for example. One simple explanation of this is different ‘ethnic’ groups of Fae. Whatever the case, tis wonderfully fascinating.

~ by jeorgesmith on 6 August 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
