triage and decimate

Triage, from the French word for separate, is a term usually used to denote a method of assessing medical needs for the allocation of resources either on a battle field situation, or during other situations demanding high amounts of medical attention. Decimate is a term derived from the Roman practice of killing one in every ten persons in a given group — for example in a mutinous military cohort.

Now, the topic of this short post: clothing and shoes.

As many may have noticed, I like clothes. I also like shoes. It has come to my attention that I have a fair collection of both. Something that is horribly inconvenient when trying to move internationally, using only the luggage one can take on an airplane. Thus a triage and a decimation. I felt that a triage worked best in the closet, keeping the more brutal force for the shoes.

Sorting the clothing, and getting rid of some of those old favorites that have no chance of survival. It was painful, but the population is under control, and there is a high chance of survival for all remaining parties.

It was much more painful to decimate the shoes. I should, as a disclaimer say that I don’t have so many that I needed to ‘kill’ more than one pair, but it was close enough that I felt it prudent (lest my shoes think I too lenient) to ‘retire’ two pair. Others will be sent to the gulag archipelago of boxes and closets stateside, awaiting the full re-establishment of my closet’s polity.

Following my established tradition, an obituary on these pairs of shoes will be forthcoming.

~ by jeorgesmith on 15 September 2009.

3 Responses to “triage and decimate”

  1. Since balance must be maintained in the universe, does that mean I can add more to my closet and shoe rack?

  2. I think I’d like to hear your personal testimony sometime; you know your conversion story about how you went from walking barefoot upon the broad way, to the point where you are now an evangelist for shoes. When did you start saving soles?

    Maybe a future blog post? :-)

  3. I’m very sorry to hear of the difficult parting of ways between you and your shoes. You will be happy to know that the jeans that you relocated to Brazil have become my favorites.

Leave a Reply

 
